Keep those old files rolling – Update

Somebody gave me the idea to try a Virtual Machine to solve the problem of the old disks (thanks Matt). I installed my old DOS 6.22 with Windows 3.11 on a virtual machine running under Win2K.
It was like meeting an old friend I haven’t seen in years. In this case almost 10 years since the last time we saw each other.
Installing MS Word 2.0 I’ve got the forbearing warning:

“YOU NEED 15MB OF HARD DISK SPACE TO INSTALL ALL THE OPTIONS”

15MB Wow! Who wouldn’t kill in those days for a 100MB hard drive!
The space allocated by default for the hard drive of the Virtual Machine is 2GB and having 64MB of RAM should give the programs a good chunk of leg-room to run happily.
Virtual Computers seem to be a good solution to the problem of obsolescence and technology changes in order to keep those old files running.

Leave a comment