Open letter to Mr. Phisher

I received a very amusing e-mail today:

Hello,
It is with profound sense of sadness i wrote this email to you. I don’t know how you will find this but you just have to forgive me for not telling you before leaving. I traveled down to United Kingdom Yesterday for a short vacation but unfortunately,i was mugged at a gun point on my way to the hotel i lodged all my money and all other vital documents including my credit card and my cell phone have been stolen by muggers.
I’ve been to the embassy and the Police here but they’re not helping issues at all,Things are difficult here and i don’t know what to do at the moment that why i email to ask if you can lend me £1,500.00 so i can settle the hotel bill and get a returning ticket back home. Please do me this great help and i promise to refund the money as soon as i get back home.
I look forward to your positive response.
Thanks

This coming supposedly coming from the Gmail of a fellow engineer that happens to live in my town and is at 2 degrees of separation from me in the LinkedIn network.

Sorry, Mr. Phisher, I don’t know the guy enough to send the funds, my bad for not being more proactive in extending my network, he was just a step away! (if he really is the one who set the account with his name). It will help your cause if you read the newspapers, for the last few days there have been no flights to or from London, you know, the volcano thing.

I heard stories of people getting similar e-mails from people they know, some of the stories may be more verisimilar even. The would be phishers make good use of the information that can be gathered from social networks to craft these targeted e-mails.

 

Google problems may have bigger problems than people creating accounts to send phishing e-mails.

 

Leave a Reply

